Grubby.

Posted: October 3, 2013 in This is the Voice of Lefty Reason

It knows no bounds. It has plumbed the deepest depths.  I think about it all the time and it invades my dreams of a night.  I have tried, Lord knows I have tried, to fight it; to try to think positively about it and to accept others’ differences but I remain weak in the face of its onslaught.  It is, of course, The Daily Mail.  The lie-peddling, rumour mongering, salacious shit-sheet laughingly referred to as a “newspaper”.  Its latest piece of lovely journalism was to smear the memory of a bloke that managed to escape the Nazi killing machine, served in the Royal Navy during WWII and remained a high profile opponent of American imperialism in Vietnam.  The man?  Ralph Miliband, long dead father of swivel-eyed Milibean.  The Mail’s evidence appears to be based around a teenage diary entry in which Miliband Senior questioned UK jingoism.  If, when we pass on to the other side, the legacy we leave behind is going to be based on angst-ridden teenage diary musings then we are all in a spot of bother I reckon.  The Mail’s spurious claims have been met head on with a twitter storm, apologies, apology retractions, political party involvement and even the Cleggster offering up his sympathies to the Labour leader.  A grubby piece of journalism; still, I suppose it keeps house prices, illegal immigrants and “benefit scroungers” off the front page for a while.  Silver linings and all that.

Comments
  1. Jonny Smitih says:

    Haha – love it. I might use this as a A2 Eng Lang piece on stylistic features of left-wing newspaper columns…. good to have you back on top form….

  2. I remember the last copy of the Daily Mail that I used……I had run out of toilet roll…it left a nasty black smear across my cheeks mind you….

Leave a Reply

